Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

People today work fewer hours and have more leisure time than previous generations did.

Every office employee have certain time dedicated to leisure time. I agree that people of today's generation would work for few hours and then have more leisure time in contrast with earlier generations. I could say this because of a few reasons which are delved deeper in the subsequent paragraphs.

With the advancement of technology, work has become more complicated. People really need to put in their hard efforts to complete their work in the scheduled time limit. Shipping industry is profound example of this. There are several equipments available to process a shipping package. The package needs to undergo several equipments and documents check. Employees at the shipping industry are always in a rush to deliver product on time. So, with the advancement of technology some of the work is being replaced by robots and computers. This has led to easy sorting and management of shipping material. This has given more time to relieve employees from their work by adding up more leisure time which they deserve.

Continuous working is physically excruciating to an individual working for long hours. This will lead to inferior working efficiency and indirectly hit up certain loss in the work. To compensate for this loss, the people get more leisure time to regain their full potential and to start working at their fullest. The computer science field is profound example of this. People in the computer science field are exposed to the computer screen throughout the day. This puts strain on their eyes. Additionally, their work puts more stress on their mind resulting poor efficiency. Hence, to avoid this, people are given more leisure time to make them work efficiently.

It has been observed that people from management tend to bond in the leisure time. This bonding inherently helps in the management work. So, it is commonly observed that to build a group they are often times given a leisure break on frequent basis.

In conclusion, I agree that people take more breaks for leisure time between their works in contrast with previous generations. This is because of increased stress at work, to maintain the efficient working of people and to increase the bonding between people which helps the organisation.