The best way for a society to prepare its young people for leadership in government, industry, or other fields is by instilling in them a sense of cooperation, not competition."

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim. In developing and supporting your position, be sure to address the most compelling reasons and/or examples that could be used to challenge your position.

There are various definitions of a leader. According to me, a leader is the crucial member of a group who leads, guide, delegates the tasks, and helps everyone to achieve a common goal.

Initially, in order to prepare young people for leadership by instilling cooperation rather than competition seems appealing in any field. To achieve the goal of a group, leader must strive towards it with cooperation. Cooperation will lead to better unity amongst that group by helping one another in their tasks, resulting the work to flow in harmony. If a group lacks cooperation there will be chaos and team might fail to complete tasks in time resulting failure of goals. So, leaders must make sure that there's cooperation in the group.

On the other hand there must be certain degree of competition which will lead to betterment of individual goals along with improvement of whole products/service line which is offered to the consumers of the society.

We can take the example of leading brand for decades - Nokia; they always worked with cooperation and succesfully achieved better quality of phones having a good product. But, Nokia's competitors were manufacturing somewhat inferior product with different software. People preferred the products of other manufacturer compared to Noika which led to fall of Nokia. This fall was because of lacking competition.

In conclusion, cooperation might not be the only thing that must be instilled in a leader rather a fusion of both cooperation and competion is essential for achieving the goals of a group to sustain in this world.