Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

Playing computer games is a waste of time. Children should not be allowed to play them.

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

An undeniable fact of modern society is that computers have become an inextricable part of our daily life. These digital devices benefit people in various ways, though, in the mean time, brings about quite a few adverse effects, among which a widely discussed one is that too much time has been wasted on computer games. Therefore, some people state that children should be banned from playing computer games. Personally speaking, I find this opinion too absolute to agree with and will further elaborate my standpoint in the following paragraphs.

To commence with, playing computer games is a justifiable entertainment form. Similar to drawing, singing, dancing, and watching TV, playing computer games is, fundamentally, a common recreational event that people choose during their leisure time. It is justified for children to take some time to enjoy their hobbies after school. In my opinion, as long as they arrange schoolwork and pastime reasonably, the time spent for relaxation and rejuvenation should not be demonized as wasteful.

In addition, children could develop and improve necessary abilities when they play computer games. Unimaginable as it seems, children actually learn something useful from the games they play. For example, The Sims requires players to make decisions about trivial and vital incidents in a life simulation, facilitating children to master the strategies of decision-making. Besides, a number of competitive games stress on teamwork, which is also of great importance in children’s daily life.

Admittedly, being addicted to computer games unhealthily could cost children a large portion of their valuable time. Even if sometimes youngsters drown themselves in games and thus perform unsatisfyingly in school, the practical way to improve this situation, however, should be proper guidance and regulation rather than pure prohibition. Denying access to computer games is highly likely not only of little effect but also backfires, leading to children’s misbehaviors such as lying and skipping classes to secretly play games. Hence, not allowing children to play them is an unwise decision.

In conclusion, moderate and judicious engagement in computer games is beneficial for children to relax, and to cultivate essential abilities such as decision-making and cooperation, which counts as anything but a waste of time. In the case when computer games do occupy excessive attention, parents should guide children appropriately rather than simply forbid them from playing.