Do you agree or disagree with the following statements? Playing sports teaches people more lessons about the life.

Sports are the most common way of exercise, especially among young adults. Playing sport has many physical benefits such as strengthen one's body and release stress. Yet as a member of multiple sports teams at school, I believe that participating in a competitive sport is more than just these apparent benefits. It is able, in many ways, to teach us lessons about life.

To begin with, most sports are collaborative activities. This means the participants of these activities need to work together towards a common goal. In the meanwhile, they can learn about many life lessons. The importance of teamwork is undeniable. It is the rudimentary base of our current society and taking part in sports prepares oneself ready. A soccer team consists of 11 people, a volleyball of 6, a basketball team of 5. They are minuscule societies. That makes communication between members inevitable. A critical part of both soccer and basketball is to pass the ball to one another. The French team won the last World Cup. It was only achieved through a delicate chain of communication between the players. On the contrary, the Argentine national team had conflicts within the team since the beginning, one of the main reasons that caused the team's defeat.

The competitiveness of sports also factors in. We, humans, are driven by our tendency to success. And on the way to achieve it, we must overcome many obstacles. We grow with failures and trials, which eventually turns into a worthwhile life lesson. Just as in the lyrics of a famous song, "it's not until you fall that you fly". At one point, the successes and failures themselves do not even matter. A good lesson can wash away the sorrows of a defeat and celebrate the joy of a victory. Once in a volleyball tournament, we faced a strong opponent from Quito. They were a great team with two strong athletes. We lost the first game quickly. Despite our terrible mood, the coaches soon gathered us together for a discussion. We came up with a strategy of blocking the two strongest opponents and let the rest play freely. When we went to the finals with the same team, our tactics operated perfectly well. As we held the gold medal in our hands, we realized that we not only achieved our success but also learned a valuable lesson, both inside and outside the volleyball court.

In my opinion, sports are life changers. They are able to reshape one's body and mind. So sports can, without doubt, teach people lessons about life.