Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

Teacher were more appreciated and valued by society in the past than they were nowadays.

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Teachers should be one of the most appreciated people in each society since they are the ones who train and teach young children and shape their most important characteristics. Determining whether they were more appreciated in the past or now, and the reasons for that, is an important matter. Some may think that they were more appreciated in the past while others would disagree. In my opinion, in past they had better social position and were more valued. I feel this way because of two important reasons which I will briefly introduce in the following paragraphs.

The main reason is that they were almost the most knowledgeable people in the society in the past. Since, the education was not well-developed and advanced, the number of educated people in the past was low and teachers were standing out among the people. Because of this exclusiveness, people were used to respect and appreciate them. According to my grandfather, people used to treat with the teachers as if they were kings. When they wanted to buy something from stores for example, people wanted to get as less money as possible from them.

The other reason is that there were less teachers in the past. The number of educated people and accordingly the number of teachers were low. When something is scarce in a society, its value considered to be high. For instance, my father said to me that when he was a student in the elementary school his teacher decided to go to another school. His decision disrupted the whole school, since there was no other teachers available. The school tried to convince him to stay in the school and doubled his salary, and afterwards everyone in the school tried to treat him well.

To sum up, tough some may disagree with my opinion, I deeply believe that the teachers were more appreciated and valued in the past. Not only were they supposed to be highly knowledgeable in the past but there were less teachers also. Though these reasons were not logical, there are plenty of reasons why they should be appreciated. I think the teachers should be appreciated more since they are in the charge for training our children that are the ones who will be the most important influence in the society in the feature. Hence, according to more logical reasons, all the people should learn to appreciate teachers more.