Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

Teachers should not make their social or political views known to students in the classroom.

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

No one can deny the importance of teacher's role in our lives. If I were forced to choose, I would definitely assert that this statement is completely true. Even though some people believe that teachers should talk about their social or political views in the classroom, it is my firm belief that it is better for teachers to not state their opinion in the classroom. I have two major reasons to support my claim, and I will develop these ideas in the subsequent paragraphs.

To begin with, I think when teachers talk about their opinion, they are going to affect the students. In this case, the students could not be in control of their belief system. It is possible that their opinions are going to change only because of another person's idea. I have to admit that my opinion on this matter has been profoundly influenced by my own personal experience. For example, when I was student, one of my teacher was an old man named MR. Johnson. He taught us history. He was a strict teacher and no one could argue with him. One time when he was teaching us about the World War two, he said something that was wrong. I got confused but I thought maybe what I learned before was not right. I completely change my idea over that point. After couple of years, I found out that mentioned point was wrong. It was so hard to me because I learnt that point in a wrong way only because of that teacher's opinion. I think this example could vividly show you how much is critical to not force our idea on some one else.

Secondly, it is possible that when students know about teachers their behavior is going to change. It is undeniable that some people could not tolerate the opposition's opinion. Therefore, their behavior could change dramatically. For example, one of my friends lived in other country. He was a teacher there. He used to teach them biology. One time, he wanted to break the ice in the classroom. He said something which could consider as insult. His students took that saying very seriously. They changed their behavior. They were rude to my friend. As a result, my friend did not continue to work there. He had to quit his job. I think examples like this could represent the importance of not sharing your opinion to your student when you work as a teacher.

In the light of above mentioned reasons, I think teachers should not state their opinion in front of their students. I provide some reasons to support my assertion. I think two major reasons are the fact the students could get affected and that could alter their belief system and the other one is possibility that students could change the way that students treat with those teachers.