Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

Teachers should not make their social or political views known to students in the classroom.

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Politics and social views are one of the most controversial issues in our modern-day society. In my opinion, I agree with the statement that teachers should not discuss their political or social convictions at their workplace. I feel this way for many reasons, which I will explore in the following essay.

To begin with, arguing about ideological beliefs could be a waste of time and a major distraction for learners. Most parents spend large sums of money on their children's education and educators should take this into account and ensure that students fully understand their classes. Hence, talking about irrelevant subjects in the classroom could affect the attendees' attention. For instance, some students might get preoccupied with thoughts about what the teacher said or mentioned leaving them with very little concentration to focus on their curriculums. My own experience is a compelling example on what I mean. When I was in high school, our biology teacher was interested in political debates and spending half of the assigned class time defending stances on government decisions was a usual thing. Unfortunately, our grades on the final examinations suffered since we did not benefit from the alloted tutoring time.

Secondly, having such discussions at school could have a negative impact on the teachers' careers and their relation with their students. Everyday, more and more organizations realize the bad outcomes that could come about from their staff or members bringing their beliefs to public places, especially in a community of diverse cultures. Thus, companies and educational institutions are changing their codes of conduct to prohibit such problematic behaviors. As a result, a teacher who chooses to engage in that kind of contentious conversations might risk breaking the law and therefore compromising the future of her or his career. Moreover, a hit to the mentor's relationship with learners is unavoidable under heated exchanges.

To sum up, I am of the position that it's better for teachers to be careful and never initiate a political or social chats while on the clock. This is mainly due to the fact that this could consume the students' time and also might jeopardize the tutor's employment.