Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

Television advertising directed toward young children (aged two to five) should not be allowed.

With the advent of television, advertising through TV shows is the best means for corporations to offer and introduce their products. So, it is common for us especially our innocent children to be bombarded by them. In this regard, some people think children-oriented television advertising should not be allowed to broadcast. I strongly agree with this statement for following reasons.

The first reason that immediately comes to mind is that children under the age of five lack the ability of understanding or judgment, so they are easily influenced by the outside world. Among the large audience, young children not only are more likely to believe what they see or hear in the advertising but also can't distinguish between what's real and what's not. This is because they aren't mature enough to realize the goals of the misleading advertising industry. Thus, advertisers send young children a message that you need these products to be happy and accepted. By doing so, children aged two to five desire to have what appeal to them. As a result, their parents would be forced to buy because they won't stop screaming, crying and even kicking regardless of whether their parents can fulfill children's unreasonable demands.

Another reason regarding this issue is that television advertising has a negative effect on the personality development of children. As we all know, their minds in early age are fresh, active and ready to absorb. Since children between two to five are vulnerable to what they watch or hear, parents must be vigilant and monitor their actions. As a tangible example, when unhealthy food including fast food was advertised, which may not especially design for young children, encourage them to have a bad eating habit that contributes significantly to an increase in the risk of obesity. Recent studies showed that over the past four years, consumption of foods eaten out has alarmingly risen among young children. It is noteworthy to mention that watching television advertising open a world of imagination and innovation for children because they are well-designed. We can ignore the advantages of television advertising when its disadvantages are taken into consideration.

All in all, I firmly believe that television advertising which permeates in every corner of our lives are not beneficial for the children to watch. Since it brings nothing but imposing a financial burden on parents and has a devastating effect on the children's mind by making them busy.