Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

The ability to maintain friendships with a small number of people over a long period of time is more important for happiness than the ability to make many new friends easily.

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer

As modern society sees the ever-increasing human migration triggered by people's desire to pursue a better life, they are more likely to lose connection with old friends and to make new friends. This migration raises the question of whether maintaining old friends is more crucial than making new friends. In my viewpoint, maintaining old friends should be attached more importance, and I will illustrate my point from two sides.

First and foremost, it is much easier to get practical assistance from old friends. The purpose of a friendship is to help each other so that both can mutually benefit. Since the relationship with an old friend is much deeper than the one with a new friend, people tend to ask help from an old friend while only exchange information with a new friend. My experience is an excellent example of this. I have an old friend who grew up with me when I was only seven years old since we have been playing together for a long time, both of us understand each other deeply, so nothing could stop us from discussing problems we meet in the daily life. We are not afraid to share our dilemmas, invite the partner to discuss the difficulty faced so that we could help each other practically. There was a time when my mother was sick and needed to go to the hospital, but I was on a business trip by chance and could not go back immediately to take care of my mother, so I called my old friend, and he asked for one day off to take my mother to the hospital. This practical help is only possible for an old friend as we hesitate to ask a new friend a favor to take one day off from work.

Besides, maintaining old friends is more time-effective. In recent years, people have a life much busier than the past, so the free time slot on people's hands becomes more scarce. However, making new friends will consume more time than maintaining old friends, so maintaining old friendships will give people more free time to spend with family. People in big cities typically work eight hours a day. For many industries, especially information technology, it is not uncommon to work twelve hours a day and six days a week. As a result, people usually only have a handful of free time. Making new friends will start a relationship from scratch, which is time-consuming, which will make employees feel much pressure. Nevertheless, maintaining old friends is far time-effective: speeding dozens of minutes on communication with old friends every week is sufficient to sustain the relation.

In a nutshell, because old friends could provide more meaningful assistance and the fact that keeping in touch with an old friend is time effective, I believe that maintaining old friendship is more important than starting a new friendship.