Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

University students should be required to take basic science classes even if they are not part of the field of the study.

With the development of the science, information acquired in high school is far left behind by the updating discoveries. Some people believe universities should make basic science classes compulsory to help undergrads keep up to cutting-edge knowledge. However, in my opinion, this policy is not as beneficial as it seems, and it might even cause problems.

Admittedly, enrolling for basic science knowledge can broaden students' outlook and facilitates their daily life to some extent. As a result, when strange things happening, people can explain what's the principle behind instead of screaming loud and running away. Basic science is also instrumental in daily life. For example, bottles full of water do not break easily, soapy water can be used to eliminate mosquitos, and forth. Nevertheless, it is not an efficient way to learn something useful in life from basic science classes and not everyone who attends the class can draw on the knowledge in ordinary routines.

Except for not being helpful in daily life, this policy also imposes huge financial burdens on universities. Hiring more professors to give the lectures, maintaining facilities and internet for more classes are required of compulsory basic science courses for everyone and need universities to invest a lot of money to achieve. In China, for example, modern history is a compulsory course for every university student. Universities have to hire famous professors and hold speeches for senior researchers. It becomes a drain on their annual budget so that some of them have to reduce the spending on other aspects like student clubs' fundings or even cut some optional courses like arts.

Furthermore, making basic science a compulsory course can distract students from their major. Basic science is not like other disciplines; it is naturally boring. I still remember the only thing I like about the science class in high school is when the teacher conducting experiments with colorful reagents and turning into astonishing results. But the learning process afterwards is tedious and struggling. Imagine if you had several final exams and one of them is basic science, the revision time on the majors would heavily shrink since basic science is really hard and need a lot of time.

In conclusion, the disadvantages of making basic science a compulsory course outweigh the benefits. Universities should let students decided whether they want to learn it or not.