Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

Young people nowadays do not give enough time to helping their communities.

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Some people say that young force of a society are the most active part of the society. In this age, the are full of energy and can put it all in the development of the society. However, I strongly agree with the statement in the prompt that says young people rarely have time now-a-days to pay heed to others' problems. In the next following paragraphs it has been addressed why.

First of all, young people today are too busy with their lives that they hardly have any time to look into other peoples' lives. As this is an age of technology, the youth are more inclined to indulge in the activities that they find enjoyable. This advanced technology allows them to be exposed to all sorts of entertainment starting from movies, TV series, gaming to what not. They sort of create their own little world where other people do not have the option to enter. In this scenario, they do not what what is going on around them. For example, in the past, the little children and the adolescents used to take part in community development programs such as tree plantation or cleaning of the common space. But, we cannot see that picture today. If the technology was not this readily available, those youths would come out of their cocoon and joined in helping the community. So, it is evident that, for the frequent use of the advanced stuff, the young generation got more inclined to the inside world.

Secondly, the changing dynamics in the social pattern specially in the formation of families also takes participation as the cause of this problem. In the past, people used to live in joint families where all the children were reared together in harmony and they were taught the basic moral values from the early stages of their lives that later helped them shape out to be better human beings. But as time went by, nuclear families started to rise where both the parents were service holders and focus more on their career growth rather on children. These children are brought up by their nannies or in a day-care center. So they miss out on the familial teachings on the moral qualities such as taking part in community tasks or simply helping a person out. For example, my brother was raised mostly by his babysitter because I have a working mom. My brother lacks the social skills in a very bad way and he rarely goes outside and take part in the community activity. Had the bonding between the families been that strong, perhaps there would have been a different case today. So, absence of teachings from the family can contribute to this problem as well.

To conclude, judging the young peoples' attitude in helping out communities is a complex task because, frankly the time and the social pattern have changed. With newer options available and having lower family connection can have profound impact in this matter.