Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

Young people today have no influence on the important decisions that determine the future of society as a whole.

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Experienced statesmen usually take important decisions for the whole society, but it does not mean that younger persons have no influence on that decisions. Most part of the society is consists of younger people, so they can affect in the future of the community in many different ways, whether directly or indirectly.

At first, there are some elections for choosing important decision-makers positions in any civilized communities, such as presidential election, Senate elections, and city or state elections. Young people can choose their intended candidates among others, and promote the ideas of that person or party in the society. Due to the high percentage of younger people in most communities, they can affect the results of the elections indirectly. The Young people are the most active parts of any country, they can debate and convince other people to choose their intended candidates, so in that fashion, they will have significant effects on their future and the future of society as a whole. For example, in last elections in my country, there was two completely different parties, the one with more modern ideas, which was closer to the young people opinions, and the one with more classic and conservatives ideas, which was not popular between youngsters. The young people advertise the ideas of the first party, and explained their ideas about the social, political, and economical problems for other people, as a result, the second party loses the election, even with so much money they spend on their advertisement.

In addition, there are so many ways for young people to declare their needs and problems, so the governors can get better choices in favor of the younger people. Some of these ways are, debating in universities and publishing their ideas about their problems and concerns, advertising their opinions in social media such as newspapers, TV, blogs, and other ways, establishing some groups for making decisions and send the results to the governers. For instance, I remember there was some educational problem in the universities, and the governors did not attend to it, but after a while, the students started a campaign about that issue, and notify other members of the society by social media like websites and newspaper, so the government address that problem, and fulfiled the needs of young people.

In the end, it might seem that important decisions are getting by older and more experienced people in the society, but they often make those decisions by the feedback from people of the society, and since the society affected by young people more than other groups, the decisions will meet their demands eventually.