Do you agree or disagree: It is difficult for teachers to be both popular (students like them) and effective helping students in learning?

With the huge development of society and education, people’s requirement for quality of teachers also become higher and higher due to the fact that nowadays most parents desire their children to be able to accept a qualified education. Thus some of them believe that the teachers should be both popular and effective helping students in learning, but others think that it is difficult for teachers to possess both the two. Personally speaking, I prefer the latter idea.

To begin with, when a teacher desire to be effective helping students in learning, it is difficult for them to obtain the widespread popularity among their students. Due to the fact that being effective means a teacher has to impart the knowledge to their students with efficiency, thereby ensuring them to maximize their learning effect. But the problem is that the most of students have been boring and dull for the kind of class, which would not help teachers gain the favor of students. There is a study from the SINA.com indicating that in one school, the 78% of students don’t like the teachers who only teaches in class and never relaxation, which means that to be a popular and effective teacher is extremely difficult.

Moreover, if teachers want to be popular and allow the students to like them, it is impossible for teachers that allow the learning of children to be effective. In these days, most students like teachers who allow them to relax in class or talk somethings interesting which have nothing to do with the class, which would make the efficiency of the class decline dramatically. The more students like the teachers, the lower efficiency the class will be. For instance, there is a data about the grade of a class in a school showing that even though there are popular teacher in the class, the grade of students in the class is the lowest among the whole classes, which proves the notion that it will not be more effective if a teacher want to be popular.

Finally, it will be not difficult for some of teachers who have long-term teaching experience due to the fact that these teachers understand what their students want or not so that they are able to change their teaching method flexibly to satisfy the requirement of students and at same time reach the most effective to help students in learning. Nonetheless, the number of teachers like them are extremely low, which means the most of teachers will not reach the high level.

In the nut shell, it is so difficult for most teachers to be both popular and effective helping students in learning.