Do you agree or disagree that progress is always good? Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Some people argue that any development is always for better. Indeed, progress in technology and medicine has been letting people save time and access advanced medications. However, other people are convinced that a progression is not so positive. Personally, I think that progress always has its advantages and drawbacks. There are a few reasons why I hold this stance.

First of all, technological development causes an environmental deterioration. In the nineteen century, the industrial revolution took place. Owners of large factories preferred use machines rather than a hand labor to produce goods. Nowadays, all factories operated by machinery. The machinery requires a huge amount of energy to run. This energy mostly produced by burning charcoal, gas or oil. In turn, the burning result in an emission of a tremendous amount of carbon dioxide in the atmosphere, which causes global warming. Consequences of the global warming are terrible – numerous species of animals have been disappearing. For instance, according to National Geographic magazine, in the Polar Region, the rising of the global temperature resulted in a population of fish to decline. Fish is a forage for polar bears. If the bears have no food, they will eventually die out. Therefore, the perspectives of the further technological progression can be quite sad.

Secondly, genetic engineering has been putting people`s health in danger. The scientific discovery of genes and their structure was one of the most prominent breakthroughs in the history of the human race. By changing amino acids` sequences in a gene, scholars were able to create a variety of new foods for the mass consuming. The genetically modified food is tasty, inexpensive and has a long shelf life, and therefore, it is appealing to the consumers. Yet, the recent studies have discovered that the genetically modified food causes a number of life-threatening ailments such as cancer. If people found out that they had cancer at the onset of the disease, they could have a chance to cure. Otherwise, they could die. Despite the fact, that these days, numerous medications are available to treat cancer, most of them are extremely costly, and not every patient can afford them. To that end, the scientific progress can be fatal for a myriad of people on the planet.

To conclude, I think that any advancement has benefits and drawbacks. This is because by improving one aspect of life, it threatening others by jeopardizing our well-being and nature.