Do you prefer to receive a one-week of orientation at the University or meet a student in the same major in order to get information.

It is critically imperative for fresh students to receive adequate information when they eventually gain admission into University. While some feel that meeting students from the same department provides them with detailed information about the University, honestly, I prefer to undergo one week of orientation at the university. My decision is based on the following reasons.

To begin with, When we receive an orientation from the University, We are more likely to be safe in terms of course selection. To explain broadly, students who undergo a week of orientation do have adequate information regarding each course to fill during course registration because all professors would be on the ground to introduce what each courses entails and as a result, it makes it easier for students to figure out courses that would be easier for them to pick. In contrast, meeting students from the same department might be risky because the information one might get from them could contain errors, and as a result, one could run into a big problem. My own experience is a good illustration of this. When I gained admission to the University of North Carolina, I didn't attend the orientation so I eventually met a student in her finals to guide me toward course selection. Unfortunately, she ended up filling a subject that is not in the curriculum for me. It was terrible that I couldn't input all the required courses that I needed to pass for that semester. In fact, I tried meeting my advisor to see if she could help in fixing the error, but she couldn't.In the end, I had to spend an additional year at the end of my program in order to take the course. This was so sad because all my friends left school at the right time. If I had attended the orientation class, obviously I wouldn't have spent an extra year at the University.

Furthermore, attending orientation makes it convenient to understand the dos and don'ts of the school. To be more specific, it is much easier to know places where you can move to and places where you are restricted from. For instance, during my first few days at the University of North Carolina, I never knew that I was not supposed to pass through the professor's lodge at night. All thanks to my roommates who made this known to me. If I hadn't heard this from her and I eventually walked through the professor's lodge, This would not only make me receive a suspension from school but also make my fellow coursemates make fun of me.

In light of the reasons mentioned, I think it is always effective to receive a one-week orientation. This is because it makes one safer and because it makes it easier to have a clear understanding of how the university operates.