Do you think students should have a long break between school years or should they go to school continuously throughout the year? Give specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Breaks are essential in boosting up one’s actions. However, I do not recommend taking long breaks between school years because the students might lose interest in studies and if affects their future career.

Firstly, students can excel in their studies if they attend schools continuously throughout the year. Once they step into the school, they are going to keep the focus on coursework and can immerse completely into their studies. This should be better continued till the end of the year so that it would be easy for students as they are in the flow. For instance, during my sophomore year, I had to take an 8-month break due to my family’s financial issues. And I discontinued studies and worked to sustain myself financially. Once we recovered from the crisis, I enrolled again but this time it was hard for me to concentrate on studies due to the gap, as I had to keep aside my studies completely. It took me a couple of months finally to become more interested in studies. As you see, taking long breaks might tend to lose focus and it’s hard to keep yourself in pace again.

Secondly, long breaks can even affect one’s future’s career. Some graduate schools require their applicants not to have breaks in their school life. They just want the students to finish school studies on time. Due to this, students cannot be qualified to apply for their higher studies in such universities. In addition, the reject from such universities might affect the student’s employment opportunities as well. For example, after completing my bachelors, I applied for one of the Ivy League universities. It is tough to get into those universities because of heavy competition and one should have a strong profile to stand out from other pool of applicants. Sadly, I was rejected because of my gap year during my school studies which affected my profile. Also, one of my friends was not recruited at one of the top companies due to her break in school years. Though she has a strong profile, other applicants dominated her in this aspect. Thus, taking long breaks can affect one’s career in many ways.

To conclude, taking long breaks in school year would take a lot of time to be focussed again and would definitely impact one’s profile when they apply for higher studies and jobs in this highly competitive world.