An effective leader should try to make others feel that they are part of the decision-making process.

Nowadays, people tend to have diffrent points of view on the question that how to make a decision. The most often heard contention about this topic is that as an effective leader, they should involve other in the decision-making process. However, I find this view overly generalized. In fact, this issue can be analyzed from two different perspectives.

Indisputably, there is no justification for us to ignore the fact that it is effective if others are part of the decision, especially when it comes to making some small decisions. It is widely believed that when asking people to help making the decision, it will make them feel needed. Thus, this will motivate people to work harder and be more effective if they are asked to involve in the decision- making process. I can think no better illustration than the example of myself. When I was in Sichuan University, the one of the most famous universities in China, I took a class called Art History, the teacher asked us to make a decision about what aspect we wanted to write about Matisse, a famous artist, instead of gave us certain assignment directly. In this way, when I appriciated his work, I found a link between his works and music. So I decided to work on this topic, and since I was part of the decision-making process, I was so passioned about this project. As a result, I tried my best to work on it, and in the end I got a very good grades in this class. Had I not been making the decision, I would not have had motivation to do this, and got a good grades. Therefore, recalling the example of my own, I can conclude that when making small decisions an effective leader should make others feel part of it.

However compelling the argument above is, it cannot support us to arrive at the verdict because it only focus on the small decisions; In order to make a dependable conclusion, we must consider other situations in which making a decision by oneself is more effective, when it refers to big decisions. It is universally accepted that if everyone ’s opinion is taken into consideration when making a big decision, it may lead to a bad conclusion. Thus, effective leaders should make the decision by themselves when involving some serious events, since it is good for the whole picture. My mom’s experience is the best example to prove my point of view. She is a manager of a cookie company, last year, their company wanted to publish a new taste of cookies, so she had a meeting about this project. However, lots of people disagree with this idea, because they think it not worth to take the risk if consumers do not like it. But my mom thought they should try to open another market, so she insisted to do it. This new cookies suddenly went viral, in the end the company won big sucess. It is my mom’s decision that enables the company to be famous. Thus, I am convinced that an effective leader should make own decision when it comes to significant situations.

To sum up, from what has been discussed above, we can easily draw a conclusion that it is irrational to take it for granted that an effective leader should let others participating in the decision-making process. Therefore, only in a case-by-case way can we fully explore this issue’s complexity.