Essay topics: Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

At universities and colleges, sports and social activities are just as important as classes and libraries and should receive equal financial support.

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

There is no doubt that sports and social activities are important for students; however, I cannot agree that they are equally important as classes and libraries. Thus, I cannot agree that money ought to be shared equally between them. This prospect is based on the reasons which will be discussed in details below.

Firstly, the main goal of tertiary education is forming a professional. From this prospect it is not important how well a surgeon played soccer at University and how quick a lawyer could run a cross during his college years. In other words, sport and participation to it do not play a significant role for an alumnae’s life and we do not estimate one's professional success via his or her university sport achievements. Therefore, it is quite unreasonable to allocate the same amount of money on sport.

Secondly, it seems questionable to spend money heavily on organizing social activities as well. All crucial social activities are already included in educational program. For instance, an ability to work in a team, to cooperate with each other will be developed through professors' assignments. A communication between students and university's or college's staff is planned as well. For instance, during my education at university we have a number of tasks which ought to fulfilled in groups, this experience helped me to learn how to work with others, furthermore, education process had lectures and seminars therefore we had a lot of interaction with educators as well. Additionally to it, we have informal meeting and parties among students as well. In other words, there is no necessity to reserve additional money for social activities.

Finally, as it was previously said, a main purpose of participation to a tertiary institution is receiving a degree. Unfortunately, achieving of this goal requires from institutions to spend a serious amount of money on buying novel equipment, soft and hard ware, or hiring best professors in order to give students best chances to be employed after graduation. For instance, in order to become a good biologist, a student must have access to newest studying materials, equipment; moreover, the one ought to be taught by a well-known and experienced teacher. Therefore those spending should be university’s priority.

To wrap up, because the major goal of education at university or college is acquiring knowledge, skills and expertise, it is wiser to spend money on classes, libraries rather than on sports and social activities.