Essay topics: Essay topics: TPO-09 - Independent Writing Task

Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

Technology has made children less creative than they were in the past.

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Nowadays a vast number of people adhere to the idea that technology has a negative impact on creativeness of our progeny. Although this stance has a plethora of supporters, I cannot agree with it. The reasons on which my prospect is based will be discussed in details below.

Firstly, I profoundly believe that computer has remarkably influenced our creativity. Personal computer is an ubiquitous, universal tool which may help a child to develop and explore one's creativeness. For instance, a person may draw, design, code, search on a simple laptop and there is almost no expenses. In other words, contemporary offspring have in their disposal a tool which allows them to explore novel levels of their creativeness which used to be unthinkable.

Secondly, the internet and social media give a push to development of progeny's creativity. Creativeness may be developed but it requires a certain background which fits for it and such services as Facebook, Twitter give children indispensable opportunity to find people who share their interests and inclinations. As a result, a youngster who wants to learn more about writing a code may find a group of people who will support him. By contrast, our predecessors usually did not have this possibility and their curiosity and creativeness remained unexplored.

Finally, we are human beings and our development depends on environment which surrounded them than more it elaborated and intricate than better children are developed. From this point of view, spreading of such pieces of technology as TV sets, radio and audio players has a positive effect on children's development in general and on their creativeness in particular. A person who has a free access to information has a broader knowledge about the world, more precise picture of the reality and as a result more developed creativity.

To wrap up, technology has a positive influence on creativeness of modern children via giving them a universal tool to explore it, providing opportunity to find someone with similar interests and creating environment which stimulates development.