Face to face communication is better than other modes of communications. Do you agree or not?

With an increasingly large amount of information available in society, the methods of communication have also advanced. Various people have different ideas regarding the best mode of communication. While some believe that face-to-face communication is superior to other forms, others tend to believe that letters, emails, or even telephones are better. I believe that indirect forms of communication are preferable to face-to-face interaction. I have mainly two major reasons to substantiate my point, which I will discuss in the following paragraphs.

First, emails and telephones are better than direct face-to-face interactions because they are more convenient. They allow students and business people to ask for, send, or convey information more instantly. For instance, a person who needs to report his boss, who is present in another country, can conveniently give him a call. Instead, if he had been required to meet his boss face-to-face, it would have taken a lot of time and delayed further proceedings. An essential element of increasingly global business is time. Information should be relayed in a timely fashion, something that face-to-face communication does not allow. Similarly, students are also able to exchange information about the projects by sharing the required material through email rather than carrying the books along with them and scheduling time with teammates and teachers.

Moreover, telephones and conference calls create new possibilities for getting things done conveniently. Many job interviews are done on Skype and with webcams. If a potential job candidate has to apply for a job overseas, he or she doesn’t need to show up in person; instead, the interview can be conducted using advanced gadgets. This greatly increases efficiency and helps employers sift through all the candidates without all the fuss. Likewise, instead of travelling from one place to another to meet people, one can easily connect with them through these modes.

In conclusion, I reaffirm my point of view that one should prefer to communicate through mail and telephones instead of face-to-face communication. By using this mode of communication, people get additional convenience in their professional and academic lives.