Films can tell us a lot about the country where they were made. What have you

learned about a country from watching its movies? Use specific example and

details to support your response.

A film is like storytelling, but with a beautiful visual and audio experience. Films entertain us and also educate us. Every country has its own culture, behavior and style. From the way a person talks or looks, it is easy to tell from which country he or she is from. Films are no different.

First of all, knowing a country's history is very important. Films regarding historical stories are very interesting and informative. Historical films give us an image of a country’s culture, attitude, style, and economy of years past. For instance, last year Iwatched the movie, Lincoln, and by that movie I came to know about the thirteenth amendment on the ban of slavery; how the Americans fought, how much they struggled and much more. It was shot so well that I got a lot of knowledge about the war. Furthermore, films set in the past show how people dressed and went about

business.

In addition, another important thing is a country’s language. By watching different country's films, we can hear how they speak. Usually, people are identified by their mother-tongue. For example, in India there are almost 30 different languages from many different states. We identify them by their language. These 30 different dialects have people of their own culture, appearance and so on. Northern Indians like to sing and dance during events or weddings, whereas, southern Indian people simply sing classical music. Even food and dress differs from the north to the south. Last but not least, films or documentaries about tribal people show us their living style and history. For example, I recently watched a documentary about an Amazon tribal people; I got to know their lifestyle, food habits and dress. In that film, one tribal man was surprised and also very angry to see a white person wanting to make a movie about them. This film taught me their culture and about the happiness and enjoyment in their tribe. Aside from hunting, they didn’t know anything about the outside world.

In conclusion, films from any country teach us a lot; it may be history, culture or customs. There is also maybe no need to go to other countries to learn about their lifestyle. Films can show us a lot, anything from the past history to the modern day.