I encourage university art students to take science-related classes

More than ever before, there is a hot debate on education at the university. A growing number of people are advocating university art students should be permitted to decide by themselves whether they take science classes or not, while a small group of people remains the opposite opinion. From my perspective, I believe every university student should have taken science-related classes.

Firstly, Science-learning can develop your brain better. Art and literature are more demanding the function of our left brain, while science and data-calculating require relevantly more exercises on your right-side brain. For art students, when they are exposed to logical thinking, which can stimulate their right brain, thus training the balanced working of the brain. The regular switching between art class and science class is creating good exercising for the brian. In this sense, participating in various subjects learning is offering a great chance for our brain to regulate its operation more effectively. Therefore, science subject classes promote your brain to grow healthier and be more flexible.

Secondly, not giving up science left a window open for self-discovery. Students, particularly art students might hate the science-related classes, for these subjects are brain-taxing and energy-consuming. But, university students are too young to thoroughly understand their talents and limits at this age. If I were the teacher, I would persuade them to go through the uncomfortable learning process and discover the truth about themselves. In some cases, some art students, they might be found out that the way a university professor presents a math topic is very inspiring, which reignites their interests again. In some other cases, students in their young adulthood realize there is a basic commonality between art and science and are becoming dealing with science topics in a brand new way. Thus, they get closer to their authentic self rather than avoid difficulties. Even though using 4 years to know that science is not their talent, this experience could also provide a guideline for the next big decision in the future.

Thirdly, Science-learning educates students better fit into society. As we all know, general education is a highly applied and validated curriculum, which has become a trend and widely copied by universities all around the world since World War 2. With its core principle, students must establish a full and structured knowledge, which includes art and science. For those people who refuse science classes and grow to be scientific illiteracy, they have a low-efficiency time when they encounter certain missing gaps in work and life. For instance, If they quit the science classes and know nothing about blood circulation, air pressure, or have a lesser version of the world's geography, how do they cope with these information gaps when they come across a situation that required an instinct response. These blind spots in common things will harm their success in work and life.

All in all, I will recommend art students not quit science at university.