teachers are more important than facilities

Whether schools should allocate more money to their facilities rather than hiring teachers, has long been the center of public attention. Some people advocate that infrastructure and high-tech equipment can greatly benefit staff and students both, while others hold the opposite opinions, stating that intellects and famous teachers are the true value and spirit of a university. From my perspective, I agree with the latter one.

Firstly, famous teachers and faculty members can establish a flourishing academic environment. As we all know, famous teachers or professors are always innovative and leading roles in a specific field they had dedicated in for years. If schools can invite the best kind of professor to lecture, their attitude and passion for their career will encourage students to model for them. If the school can invite the best kind of professors to project with, their academic resources and achievements can also impact and reinforce the faculty’s performance. All of these traits from the famous teacher will significantly influence the vision and future of a university. None of these could be replaced by machines.

Secondly, a famous teacher can guide students through difficult times. The famous teacher who is successful knows the road to success never goes smoothly. Not only their professional knowledge but also their experiences are very precious to pass through to students. Whether students get stuck or encounter setbacks in their work or life, the teachers who grasp more wisdom in life can lift the spirit. Take me as an example, I always like to consult senior professors for help. Sometimes I will bring some questions about my academic work and other time I will ask my confused things in daily life. I was warmed by the mentorship professors offered, which was like lights in the night. What they said to me sparked my thoughts and give me courage. Therefore, it seems to me, that schools equipped with more cold machines cannot fulfill this gap.

Thirdly, hiring famous teachers can boost enrollment. What are the most important elements you will consider when you are applying to a university? I guess most of us weigh teachers so much over the facilities. Imagine that if you would attend a class lectured by a professor who is a Nobel Prize winner, isn’t that exciting? Imagine that if you would work with a professor who win the championship of Olympic, will you be thrilled to meet them immediately. Conversely, I think without these people the smart tools cannot utilize at their optimal. Therefore, well-known and world-class scholars and teachers will be very compelling. At the moment doing school-selecting, I don’t believe, any students are hesitating if they know they will learn with the most brilliant professor in the field. The glow effect from the famous teachers is the best advertisement for student recruiting. Thus, the university management team should hire famous teachers instead of purchasing equipment.

All in all, regarding the academic environment, guidance, and enrollment, I believe famous teachers are more important than facilities. Therefore, I will advise the university finance more on hiring famous teachers.