If you want to recommend a way to reduce living expenses for your friend, which of the following will you choose? Why?

1. Find a roommate to share a room

2. Do not buy the latest mobile phone, Buy new technological devices less frequently

3. Buy cheap foods and cook home (do not often eat outside)

In our sophisticated world, being a student can be too difficult. In addition to making an effort to study hard, they should make money for their costs. Therefore, I highly recommend them sharing their rooms with roommates to spend less. In the following paragraphs, I will delve into two conspicuous reasons to elaborate on my standpoint.

To begin with, the more roommate you have, the less you have to pay. It is crystal clear that when one finds a roommate to share his room with, the living expenses would be extremely reduced because he has to pay half of the rent cost. Renting a room costs a large amount of money and it is a major component of living costs for students. Moreover, some further expenses such as bills are halved too. My own experience is a compelling example demonstrating this fact. Two years ago, I was an undergraduate student specialized in mathematics, and I had a difficult time to meet the cost of living because I had to pay my tuition fee, rent a room in the dormitory, and pay back my student loans. One of my friends advised me to look for a roommate. I took his point and shared my room with a distant friend. Later on, I could afford the expenses easier and my financial problem started to alleviate. Had I not shared my room, I would stay in trouble.

Another equally significant point is that when you share your room with someone else, you can develop your relationship with him. Consequently, you can improve your communication skills and the more sociable someone is, the more job opportunities he would gain. Thus, you can find a job to help you with your living expenses. Also, your roommate sometimes can assist you to get employed. For instance, I had a friend that found an almost well-paying job in the student center on campus, since her roommate was working there for a long time and was aware of job vacancies. Currently, my friend has not only a nice friend but also a good job.

To make a long story short, I firmly believe that one helpful way to lower the costs of living for students is by sharing rooms. That's because a roommate is responsible for paying a part of many expenses such as the rent. Besides, the student can form a friendship with him that can be beneficial in innumerable ways such as finding a career.