Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

It's a waste of money for the government to fund space travel or space exploration. Give specific examples and details to support your answer.

In our sophisticated world, it is a controversial issue for the governments to select the areas they want to support financially. I think it is critically important to invest in space traveling and space exploration. In the following paragraphs, I will delve into two conspicuous reasons to elaborate on my standpoint.

To begin with, funding space travel and exploration may lead to discoveries about space and new scientific achievements in various areas such as cosmology, astronomy, and geology. The more the government allocates money to science, the more scientists would be encouraged to attempt and focus on research. In our modern era, knowledge is power with no doubt. A compelling example demonstrates this fact is my government that invested money in nanotechnology that made innumerable scientists motivated to study in this field. As a result, my country is currently a leading country in nanotechnology.

Another equally significant point is that when the government spends money on exploring space, it can result in new technologies that are economically beneficial. A large number of prosperous industries all over the globe seemed strange at first glance but flourished after being supported for a while. For instance, I have a smart friend who wanted to found a company and produce his novel special electronic tools ten years ago. His innovative ideas seemed naïve at the beginning and attracted almost no one. However, his uncle gave him a large amount of money and he established his company with that money. After two years, the company started thriving and currently my friend is extremely rich. Had his uncle not invested that money, my friend wouldn't gain success and wealth now.

To make a long story short, I firmly believe that it is important for the government to fund space issues. That's because it can have a major contribution not only to the scientific progression but also to earning a huge amount of money.