If you were an employer, which kind of worker would you prefer to hire: an inexperienced worker at a lower salary or an experienced worker at a higher salary? Use specific reasons and details to support your answer.

Corporate hiring completely depends on the job demands. Some jobs may need the employer to hire an inexperienced fresher to bring in updated ideas and practices to the business; however, other job vacancies require work experience. Both type of workers have their merits and demerits. Considering the benefits, I would prefer to hire experienced staff at higher salary for the following reasons.

First, people with job experience have academic as well as practical knowledge which is necessary to deal with wide array of adverse situations coming up in the business. Their experience can guide the co-workers to handle the issues more efficiently, reducing the risk of hurting the business. For instance, the hospital where I worked as a physician assistant in the intensive cardiac health unit, the patient care team was lead by a renowned intensivist who had 8 years of experience in Critical care. We often used to come across different complications in variety of patients which demanded right intervention at the right time. Such situations were tackled by him. During the course of my tenure, i witnessed the kind of miracles which people often talk about, saving lives from fatal cardiac conditions and significantly reducing the mortality and morbidity rate. Consequently, more patients were attracted to our hospital for treatment purpose. Without his years of knowledge and experience, it was not possible for the cardiac centre to run such efficiently.

Moreover, while a fresher has more of new ideas and approaches to bring profit to the organisation, yet, they are likely to be unaware of the company’s practices in the business world. This can result in lose to the company instead of bringing more economic benefit. For example, last summer, my uncle hired a young inexperienced chef in his restaurant. In order to make profit he started to buy the cheap meat which was treated with chemicals and antibiotics. When the customers learned about this, they stopped visiting and as a result, the business was hurt. The shows how the hiring a fresher could actually bring loss to the company, instead of profit.

In conclusion, the advantages of hiring an experienced personnel are significantly more than that of the low salary inexperienced worker's. This is because the past work experience of an employee can not only cut the odds of hurting the business but also bring in more financial benefit to the organisation.