If you were an employer, which kind of worker would you prefer to hire: an inexperienced worker at a lower salary or an experienced worker at a higher salary?

In highly competitive business world, a company needs to take various factors into consideration when deciding to recruit new employees. Many interviewers often face the same dilemma when weighing between seniority and salary. If I were an employer, an experienced applicant is more preferable even though it means I have to offer a higher monthly salary.

First, an experienced worker will be inclined to create more profits for a company. In comparison with workplace newbies whose inexperience may lead to long stretches of adjustment in a new environment, experienced candidates can accommodate themselves to new circumstances in a relatively short term, which will greatly enhance productivity and efficiency. Besides, when tackling tricky problems in workplaces, experienced workers equipped with more professional skills can come up with effective strategies while inexperienced workers face high chances of making serious mistakes due to inexpertness, hesitancy,and timidness, which may cause great financial losses. Therefore, for the sake of a company’s interests, an interviewer should prefer experienced applicants than inexperienced ones.

Second, inexperienced workers can hardly remain loyal to a company for a prolonged time. A recent survey by China Daily Youth reveals that workers without much work experience have much higher possibilities of job-hopping and show a weaker sense of responsibilities especially when they find their work slightly challenging or are offered a higher salary by another company. Of 2,000 respondents, 64.6% of employees averagely change their jobs once a year for such factors as difficulties in getting salary rise or promotion. In order to save human costs, a company should place great emphasis not only in hiring staff with less money but also in maintaining employee retention. In contrast, experienced workers give priority to stable work. When dissatisfied with their incomes, poor working environments, and overtime work, they feel more open to express their dissatisfaction instead of quitting their jobs. To guarantee retention of staff, a company should recruit experienced candidates.

Last but not least, experienced workers are more proficient in interpersonal skills, which will further contribute to a comfortable working atmosphere. Employees must know how to develop great relationships with their colleagues so that they can cooperate with each other more effectively. Inexperienced staff who usually lack a sense of belonging in a new working environment often find themselves hard to integrate with the new community. Consequently, the estranged relationship with colleagues will in turn exert negative impacts on not only their own work but also their colleagues’. Experienced workers have already learned how to fulfill a common objective more efficiently by working closely with their colleagues. In other words, experienced workers creates a more enjoyable working atmosphere.

In conclusion, experienced workers are more favorable in workplaces in that they are more efficient, reliable and enjoyable.