Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

Movies and television have more negative effects than positive effects on the way young people behave.

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

The 21st century is an era of booming information, as well as flourishing entertainment. In this case, movies and televisions have taken an increasingly important role in our everyday life. Some people argue that these two ways of entertainment tend to affect young people in a negative way rather than positively. From my perspective, I believe that the disadvantages of them do outweigh the advantages.

First of all, as is constantly witnessed, there are excessive violent content on programs and films that people watch every day. An indiscriminate exposure to those content can cast a long shadow on children's development, since children lack some basic judgements and the visual representation is far more impressive than parents' preach. To be more specific, children are good at imitation, to which programs and films are the commonest source. What can happen after a child watches violent movies can be inestimable and terrible. For example. my cousin Nathan got a punishment for his misbehaving at school, which is a consequence of imitating what people on the TV did. Thus, young people's behavior can be negatively influenced by violent contents showed on TV or movies.

In addition, the obsession to TV and movies itself can be a serious problem that alienate young people from good behaviors. None of us can deny that entertainments are more attractive than work or study. The programs and films today are getting more and more eye-popping in order to appeal to more audience. Young people, who are more susceptible to seductions, can easily get addicted to them. As a consequence, their academic performance will be less desirable, which will get in the way of their future career hunting. What is worse, more time spent being a couch potato means less time for doing sports, and then their physical conditions will get worse.

The negative impacts of movies and televisions on young people's behavior are a serious fact that people should not ignore. To eliminate those effects, maybe more restrictions and regulations applied on them are in need.