Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

Unlike in the past, people today spend too much time on personal enjoyment-doing things they like to do-rather than doing things they should do.

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

It is an era of booming information, where a massive scale of entertainment is flooding into people’s life. Under such circumstances, some believe that the increased time people spent on recreation today is far more than they should, compared to a much less time spent on what they should do. From my perspective, however, people nowadays do not show a tendency of wasting time more than they used to.

People today are working longer time as a result of the mounting pressure and heating competition of the contemporary world. Most of companies are faced with challenges of being replaced by competitors who are superior in the service or product quality. Therefore, enterprises force their employees to work harder with more tasks to accomplish, making most people cannot be as relaxed in their jobs as people in the past were. Under such high pressure, it will be not reasonable to say people today have indulged themselves more in personal enjoyments than people in the past did.

It is undeniable that people have more options when it comes to personal enjoyment than they did in the past. With increasing choices to have fun, it is possible that one may no be able to resist the tempt of delaying business for entertainment. However, most people today possess a greater sense of responsibility, which means they are not likely to actually waste time on such things rather than go to work or study.

Unlike in the past, people in the new century know more clearly about what they want and what they should fight for. To be more specific, people have easier access to schools and other resources of education now, they are gaining a growing persistence about dreams, which enables them to better pursuing their goals. On the contrary, people in the old days had less literacy rate. In terms of what kind of life would they like, they might get lost. Uncertainty about personal development may result in more time taken up by meaningless amusements. Hence it would be irresponsible to conclude that people nowadays are more likely to squander time on recreations.

To summarize, people today do not pay too much attention to entertainment instead of what they should do, for that they have heavier burdens and clearer goals than before.