Some parents offer their school-age children money for each high grade (mark) they get in school. Do you think this is a good idea? Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

In the developing process of children, family education plays an essential role in shaping the values and cultivating their personalities. There have been debates over whether children with excellent academic performance should be rewarded with money by their parents, of which opinions are divided. Those who believe that this promotes children’s motivation to study, however, fail to take the negative impacts of this idea into account.

It is true that sometimes children need encouragements to maintain their enthusiasm for study. Appropriate reward can certainly have a positive effect on children, which acknowledges their effort and shows how proud their parents are for them. Nevertheless, offering money to children who get satisfying grades in school can be inappropriate, which may have an opposite outcome. Doing this in the long-term can cast a cloud on the development of children.

First of all, faced with a “salary” offered by parents for doing a good academic job, some children may focus more on getting higher marks than improving their abilities. As we know, the meaning of school education lies in the acquisition of knowledge and the process of gaining learning abilities, instead of attaining high marks and compliments. If parents keep on giving their children money every time they perform well in an examination, going to school and study may face the danger of diverting from its original purpose. What is worse, using money to encourage children will also hinder their comprehensive understanding of what is precious in life. Making money the only goal of children’s life and study can severely harm the quality of education, and children’s characteristics.

Apart from the potential threats to the success of education, this reward system may also hamper the relationship between children and parents. What most children really need are the care and praise from parents, instead of money awards. Imagine a child who works hard to achieve extraordinary academic performance just to avoid letting his parents down, while all he can get is money and other material supplies in return rather than a sincere compliment and a hug with love and proud. This kind of family relationship is cold, unhealthy and can cause more problems than parents can expect. For example, children who feel ignored may take more aggressive measures to attract the attention of parents, like fighting with others or telling lies all the time.

After all, although children need encouragements and gifts to keep the motivation of studying all the time,it is critical to choose suitable ways to reward them. Instead of simply giving money to their kids, parents should pay more attention to forming a close relationship and providing solid support.