Doing which activity do you think can better help you strengthen the friendship between you and your friend?

-having a good time together with your friend

-solving your friend’s problem with him or her

Friends, whose company is always the source of an individual’s courage, is quite important in our lives. The debate over the best way to maintain friendship has been raging for a long time. From my perspective, although it is significant to have fun together sometimes, what matters more is to help each other address problems.

Firstly, helping friends in problem solving is the key to establishing trust and confidence between each other. People always tend to trust those who are willing to help them. If your friends are in trouble, imagine who will be appreciated most after you generously give your hand? Whether you address the problems effectively or not, the gratitude will deeply touch your friend, for they will know your reliability, that you will always have their back. What’s more, this will help form a confidence between you and your friends, which guarantees the positive future of your friendship.

Secondly, people who have been through one plight together will be emotionally closer to each other. Sharing the same experience which only belongs to the two of you, you and your friend will be able to understand each other better and eventually cherish one another more. Take me and my friend Suzie’s story as an example. Suzie was greatly helpful when I was going through an obstacle in my life. She came to my house everyday during my hard time, figuring out solutions with me together. With this precious memories in mind, me and Suzie have been best friends for over ten years, whether we can meet frequentily or not. Weathering a storm together can definitely enhance the emotional bond between friends.

Admitedly, having pleasant moments with friends is necessary in friendships. How the experience with friends feels can decide the feeling towards them. If I can only connect someone with painful memories, I am more prone to stay away from this person. On the contrary, if a person always reminds me of enjoyable old days, I will feel a stronger inclination to spend more time with him or her. However, the importance of having fun together still cannot outweigh the priority of solving problems together. People who only enjoy amusements together without deeper communication are what we called playmates, not friends.

In conclusion, the better way to strengthen friendships is to walk your friend through difficulties instead of barely entertainment. Although having fun with each other can improve the experience of relationships, trust bonded and the closeness founded by working challenges through together are the top priority in maintaining a friend.