Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

Some students have poor study habits when they enter university or college. All students should take required courses to develop good habits.

As is universally acknowledged, entering university means a new opening of one’s life. The novel environment brings about a series of excitements, as well as negative consequences. To be more specific, there is a rising phenomenon of undesirable study habits among students. Under such circumstances, many maintain that certain courses are needed for all students in order to achieve better habits. However, as far as I am concerned, courses like that would be unnecessary for students.

It is undeniable that youngsters may need the guidance of the elderly sometimes in terms of shaping their study attitude. Lacking basic experience and plan for life, young adults are faced with the challenge of dealing with personal affairs as well as academic work all by themselves. As a result, particular assistance is in indispensable need. Nevertheless, schools should come out with more effective method than applying obligatory courses.

Different students may have distinguished problems in developing good study habits, thus the same courses would fail to adapt to various demands. For instance, some students may face the problem of having difficulty resisting distractions during study time, while perhaps some others are troubled by not being able to finish assignments independently. The types of issues this course need to deal with are numerous, which can be far beyond its capability, making schools hard to find such professors with comprehensive skills to address all problems. Without solutions covering every aspect, it will be impractical for the courses to satisfy all students.

Taking courses is not the most effective way when it comes to fostering students’ habits. There are many other ways that can make a difference, such as forming study groups, giving schedule arranging suggestions and so on. In addition, the form of course may actually hamper the willingness of children towards developing good habits. Young and rebellious as some students are, appropriate lead matters more than to preach.

In conclusion, courses designated for students’ study habits are worth no recommendation, for that although some directions are helpful for students, courses are limited in fitting a broad range of students and the effect would not be as good as expected.