If your city’s government only has enough budget to fund ONE of the following projects, which do you think the money should go to?

1. play movies in parks often so that people can watch them for free

2. provide students with extra classes so that they can learn things they

would not normally learn on campus

3. make advertisements to promote the city and attract more tourists

When the government is limited on budget, funding one must give up another. How the government funds projects is core to justice and efficiency. In my opinion, free movies offered in public parks benefit everyone, and forms a city culture efficiently. In contrast, extra classes and tour advertisements just contribute to a part of the citizens, and even more these projects may be a kind of waste.

Admittedly, extra classes are the best choices for parents who are wondering where their children should go after school. Considering some people do not have children, it is not fair if the foundation just used to benefit a part of people instead of all people. Also, tour advertisements just increase the income of shop-holders and businesses related to tourism. Even more, more and more tourists may bother the local community. For example, when local people like to have a snack, they have to wait in a long line constructed by tourists. On the contrary, everybody can enjoy the free movies and have a good time with their family or friends.

Nonetheless, extra courses may be focused on the form rather than the effects. For instance, when I was in senior high school, although there were extra classes, due to the lack of supervision, we were just talking, joking, and even watching movies in the classroom. Furthermore, Advertisements may not attract tourism. In my experience, the government always makes terrible advertisements. On the other hand, the park which often plays free movies as a site can attract people to visit and benefits tourism. For education, we can play the move with education purposes. For example, to emphasize environment protection we can play—the day after tomorrow--, and not only students but also adults can realize the importance of protecting our environments.

All in all, only the free movie program can accomplish justice because it benefits all people in the city, others just benefit a part, and the free movie program contributes to various aspects of society practically, others may be a waste.