Imagine that you are in a classroom or a meeting. The teacher or the meeting leader says something incorrect. In your opinion, which of the following is the best thing to do?

— Interrupt and correct the mistake right away.

— Wait until the class or meeting is over and the people are gone, and then talk to the teacher or meeting leader.

— Say nothing.

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Nobody is perfect and everyone makes mistakes. Sometimes malign consequences can be resulted from careless mistakes. Therefore, whether or not to point out and correct others mistakes, especially leaders', has sparkled fierce debate. I suggest that the appropriate behavior should be based on specific scenarios with the following stated factors taken into consideration.

To begin with, the severity of the mistake makes a difference. For example, if a teacher made a mistake that serves as the foundation of the entire class or if a meeting leader states incorrect background information in a project presentation that would cause confusion in the following part, this kind of mistakes should be corrected as long as one has detected, maintaining the quality of discussion. On the contrary, interrupt for tiny mistakes would be disruptive and distracting.

In addition, confidence in your correctness maters. If you are not sure about your thoughts or you just want to provide better suggestions, waiting until the end and talk in person would be more appreciated. Otherwise, direct interrupt would be interpreted as a behavior showing impoliteness towards respectful ones and would lead to adverse impression. For example, one of my classmates

used to shout out his thoughts without a second thought, therefore most of the time it is caused by the misunderstanding of the student instead of the mistake of the teacher. Not only the authority of the teacher was questioned, but also the students feel annoyed.

All in all, speaking out honestly has an edge over remaining in silence. In no cases should we say nothing when spotting a mistake. It is beyond belief that the effort of correcting other's mistakes displays the courage, the concentration and the wish for improvement of the listeners.

To summarize the points listed above, we should choose between immediately correct the mistake and wait afterwards depending on the potential influence of the mistake and the personal confidence.