TPO36

Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? For the successful development of a country, it is more important for a government to spend money on the education of very young children (five to ten years old) than to spend money on universities. Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Among numerous aspects including technology, economy and law, the society is seeking for improvement. Nowadays, more emphasis is put on education and there is a fierce debate about where the government should spend the money. With regard to this question, I am against the statement that funding on young children would be more beneficial than on university for the following reasons.

To begin with, the advancement of the society is largely dependent on the researches and achievements produced by the universities. Univerisity is a place for professors and students to apply the knowledge in practical life to solve real life problems with creative approaches. However, the researches usually requires a huge amount of money and reducing the funding would discourage students to go to universities, causing the loss their extraordinary ideas which may reduce the emergence of new products and companies.

In addition, spending less money on universities would diminish the potential talents of all fields in the future. If the society needs to make progress, it needs talents with different backgrounds, those are exactly the students receiving higher education in the universities, preparing for their professional career. With less money, the quality of the higher order education would decrease due to possible lack of faculties, laboratory equipments or library resources etc., it is more difficult for students to be trained as intelligence under unfavorable conditions.

Furthermore, investing in university education establish the status of the country among the world by increasing the reputation and academic strength, attracting more students overseas. With students coming from different places with different specialities, university education would be promoted in return with a more diverse background.

In essence, providing more funding for university education gives an edge over young children education considering its vital role in social development, talents cultivation and international status.