Some parents offer their school-age children money for each high grade (mark) they get in school.

Do you think this is a good idea?

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

The advanced education has progressed during the past few years, resulting in an increase number of parents are putting emphasis on the education of their children from a younger age. Under such a circumstance, the question concerning the approach to lit up the motivation of their children has been raised. Whereas some people believe in the benefits of material incentive for the improvement of academic performance, I, however, hold the opposite view.

To begin with, it would eliminate the motivation for purely purse of knowledge as opposed to what many believe. The material rewards create an allure for children in trade of diligence and outstanding grades, hindering the exploration of the reason for learning. They are motivated for the rewards, not for the process of learning itself, not for their career options, not for their dreams. Many children would lose enthusiasm since they are not aware of the in-depth reason for education.

Furthermore, my rationale for the disapprovement based on the dependency on rewards that children would develop in the long run. The rewards would be taken for granted and expected whenever high grade is attained. However, considering the senario that parents try to stop the feeding of money when they are older or forgot to give the rewards for even one time, their children would develop a feeling of disappointment and anger, requiring for the money that they feel they deserve.

Lastly, as a consequence of the dependency mentioned above, children would display a remarkable decline in academic performance as the rewards stopped, which would cause frustration and stress meanwhile. Taken my friend in experimental school as an example, once she topped in our class in an integrated exam owing to the rewards her parents promise. Contrastly, what follows is the drop of nearly 20 places in the following exam in the absence of money rewards.

In brief, I advance that it is not reasonable to offer school-age money for high mark because of the disadvantages including decreased motivation, generation of dependency and recession without the rewards.