Some parents offer their school-age children money for each high grade (mark) they get in school.

Do you think this is a good idea?

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

The debate on whether rewarding children for their school achievements is a good or bad idea has garnered a range of views. Nowadays, many are adamant that a myriad of elements should be taken into consideration to check the constructive and destructive facets of this issue. Some people posit that give child present every time he/ she gets high mark in school is a crucial tool in the education process and has many positive impacts. On the other hand, others take the opposite side and disagree. From my vantage point, I agree with a former group and aver that rewarding students for every progress in their school education plays a pivotal role in the development of their academic field. I feel this way for two reasons, which I will explore in the following paragraphs.

The first exquisite point to be considered is that by doing this action - offering child money or present for high marks - will encourage a child to increase his/ her efforts. Although some people believe that children should learn that the progress they achieve in school is crucial for their future, giving money or presents will motivate them to do their best in their studies. My personal experience is a compelling example of this. In the sixth grade, I acquired high marks in math and science subjects. Fortunately, my mother gave me a present to praise my efforts in the exams. Consequently, this present encouraged me to do my best in the following classes and was the best motivation tool during my time in middle school.

Secondly, another reason which deserves some words to say is that rewarding children may increase the competitive sense in them and enhance their personalities. A study from Colombia University has revealed that the child who received presents from their parents for their school achievements has shown a high level of self-esteem and confidence. A vivid example that can shed light on this subject is one from my brother's experience. In a secondary school, my brother was lacking self-esteem, however, his teacher told my parents that my brother needs motivation and the best type of encouragement he can get is offering him money or present.

To wrap it up, contemplating all aforesaid reasons, one can soon realize the importance of rewarding children every time they achieve excellent marks in the school.