Some parents offer their school-age children money for each high grade (mark) they get in school. Do you think this is a good idea? Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Identifying best methods to help students get better grades, is an important matter. There exist plenty of methods for it, one of which is offering money for each high score they get. Some may think that this is not a good idea since they would learn to be dependent on the money to get high scores, while others would disagree. In my opinion it is one of the best methods to encourage children to study more. I feel this way because of two important reasons which I will briefly introduce in the following paragraphs.

The main reason is that it motivates them to try harder and get better scores. Children, especially when they are younger, are not wise enough and cannot understand the importance of education. However, they need and like money, hence, it can be used as a prize which will make them to study more. For example, my little brother was not good at school at all. I proposed to my father to offer him money to get higher scores. He did this and as I was predicting, it really helped and encouraged him to try harder, and as a result, his GPA increased by a score of two.

Secondly, this offer teaches them to earn money instead of getting it for free. The children do not know how hard it is to earn money and just get pocket money from their parents for free. Offering money for their achievements would teach them that they can earn their money with doing some work. This way, they will also learn how to save or spend money more wisely, since they have tried and did something to earn it, so, they better know its value. For instance, my father was not giving me free pocket money since I was 10; He was used to ask me to do different simple tasks at home such as washing my plate after dinner, or arranging my drawer, and in exchange, he was giving me money. Hence, I have always done some tasks to earn money, and since they were difficult for me, I appreciate it more and learned to spend it just when it was needed.

To sum up, though some may disagree with my opinion, I deeply believe that offering money for getting high scores, is an effective method to help them get better scores. Not only does it encourage children to try harder and study more but also it teaches them how to save or spend their money. I think parents should dedicate some time to think on this and if they would think that it is a logical and beneficial method, try to do it.