The increase in automation will lead to people losing their jobs

For the past 20 years, technology has had a huge impact in our lives whether it’s positive or negative. One that is discussed by many is the increase in automation and whether it will lead people to lose their jobs. I strongly believe that the increase will lead people to lose their jobs. I feel this way for two reasons which I will explore in the following paragraphs.

Firstly, a machine is coded to make the outcome appear faster. Compared to a human, a machine works more efficiently and faster. A great example of this is when I worked as an intern in a dance school. My job was to check on student’s monthly fees, their class schedules and take notes when they didn’t show up to the classes. I worked there for six months but one day, they bought a computer system that can do all this work just with a click of a button. Since the machine did all the work I wasn’t needed anymore. For the sole reason of a computer doing work faster than me, I was unemployed. On top of this, since there will be machines working instead of humans, companies won’t have to pay salary for the employees. Doing yearly check up on machines is much more cheaper than having to pay thousands of employees salaries. To give an example, my friend worked at a clothing company where they sew all the clothes were handmade. Unfortunately, her boss decided to invest on machines that didn’t require human work since they were much cheaper to take care of in the long run. My friend and her fifty other colleagues were fired in less then wo months.

To sum it up, i believe that automation will lead to many people being unemployed. Automation is a genius investment for big companies but on the contrary of this, many peoples work lives are on risk simply because of some machines.