It is becoming increasingly popular to have a year off between finishing school and going to university. What are the advantages and disadvantages of this?

A gap year after finishing high school is becoming a trend but without taking the precaution of using the year responsibly, tenegers can end up wasting a year of career preparation. On the other hand, teenagers who take a year off can enhance their abilities, and obtain the right preparation for the field that they have chosen.

Meanwhile, it is a trend to take a year off between school and university, and as a result it has developed some advantages and disadvantages for teenegers that have decided to take the time off.

To begin with, students who decide to take a gap year can build up their strength to prepare head on for the challenges in the coming years. For instance, students that would study foreign language degree, can use this time off to learn different languages or do some voluntary work in a different region in order to extend their social interaction and gain some fresh knowledge of different cultures. Therefore, if students use their year off effectively, they will be even better prepared to begin their university career.

Nevertheless, those students who take a year off and do not have proper goals, can face some disadvantages. As a matter of fact, during the gap year students can procrastinate their studies and waste their time off. Also, teenage students can be distracted easily by their friends who are bad influences and start doing improper actions such as partying every night, drinking too much, etc.

Notably, these actions can sabotage their future. When students return to the university after their time off, students can start doubting themselves, whether they are ready to embrace the challenges of university life, begin the hard work of studying again, and focus on their studies. Consequently, many students choose to drop out of college in their first year.

Finally, while there are many advantages and disadvantages to a gap year, taking a year off can help one discover new horizons, and increase one's perspective on life.