It is better for children to choose jobs that are similar to their parents’ jobs than to choose jobs that are very different from their parents’ job.

Without any doubt, choosing and commencing a job is an inevitable juncture in the life of most people, since even a simple life is not possible without an occupation in today’s modern world. Different individuals are inclined to various jobs according to their personality, skill, age, societies' cultures, to name but a few. With this in mind, some believe that it does not recommend for children to select jobs which are similar to their parents' occupations, while others hold the opposite view. I, personally, subscribe to the latter attitude based on quite a few reasons, three of the most substantial of which are elaborated upon hereunder.

The most compelling reason is that particularly for individuals starting a career, the first year of work is full of difficulties owing to the fact that people are not familiar with the workplace's atmosphere, rules, co-workers, to name but a few. Enjoying parents, especially with the same work, who has previously experienced all these hardships, is invaluable. It is crystal clear that parents are closet people in the life of anyone; hence, parents can help their children to get accustomed with initial jobs' difficulties easier. It is statistically proven that there are a great deal of individuals who abandon their works in the first month, which is indicative of the importance of having a person to assist during this time.

Another interpretation as to why I do not concur with the first perspective in the introductory paragraph lies in the fact that it is undisputable that parents have experiences about at least half of the age of their children-- or, to put it in another way, the more time on works, the more knowledge he or she will acquire about pivotal points of an occupation, that they can offer them to others. Therefore, parents can pave the way for development of their children, thanks to their precious experiences. With the help of their parents, children can know the secret of a job without experiencing anything, which brings them about success, and thus fortune.

Last but not the least, it stands to reason that one is required to work hard so as to get promotion and be prosperous at a job, which needs high level of intelligence and skill. However, this does not mean that if one lacks the attributes mentioned before, cannot be successful. A person can take a job in a reputable company due to his parent's reputation. So, he or she can advance without any effort.

In summary, having considered all the aforementioned arguments discussed above, I firmly endorse my point of view that the merits of choosing a job which is similar to our parent's jobs outweigh those of selecting different jobs on the grounds that it gives children a chance to benefit from their parents' experiences, promote faster, and get accustomed to the workplace easier.