It is better to learn from coworkers and friends than to learn from teachers and supervisors.

Learning is a lifetime skill and people learn from different people during their life. While some beleive people learn better from their peers and their own level, others think differently. In my oppinion, people learn things better from those at a higher level due to their more experience and more acceptance.

First of all, higher level people such as teachers or supervisors are more experienced. They have the knowledge and background. Most of them are in their position due to their more practice. So, they are familiar to the problems and the caviate in their jobs and this make them a better teacher to learn from. In fact, they have past trough the same process before and their advice are more realistic. Our peers are in our level and their knowlege is not complete and thorough, thus their advice may not be as helpfulness as higher level people. In fact,higher level people advice is more practical but our peer advice is not complete and is based on their little exposure to the fact.

Moreover, people can accept advice from higher level people easier than their own level ones. In other words, when we want to learn something from our own level people we are under pressure of comparing and not accepting. It is something in our mind that resist to learn from them. Our mind considers we are the same and this belief prevent us from learning from them and this makes resistance. Studies showed that in our brain, resistance is a preventive tool and curbs growing. For instance, If our teacher or supervisor gave us advice, the chance for acceptance and use is higher than our coworker or same level persons advice and we consider it less personal and approach differently. We do not like to see ourselves undermined and this prevent us from learning properly. Therefore, advice and teaching is more acceptable and desirable by higher level people than peers.

In conclusion, although learning from the peers could be very helpful and wise in some area, learning from the higher level people is more pleasant. Not only high level people are more experienced and knowledgeable and their advices are more accurate and helpful but also their advice and words are more acceptable for us .