It is important to know about the happening of the world

It goes without saying that in this sophisticated and progressive era in which we are living, university students should be equipped with vast amount of knowledge and information about assortments of issues; history is not an exception. While many practitioners and curriculum policy makers believe that all of the students should be required to take history course, others stand at the other end of the continuum, believing that taking history course which is irrelevant to students' field of study is unnecessary and extremely ineffective. As far as I am concerned, I hold the opinion that taking history course regardless of students' field of study should be must and a priority in universities. The reasons to substantiate my viewpoint are elaborated upon hereunder.

To begin with, taking history course will open an avenue for students to be endowed with the most important and educational experiences of the past generations. It is crystal clear that the more knowledge people have about the ebbs and flows of their predecessors, the more insight will be sparked on their mentality. Being dependent on histories of inter-or intra communities will open the windows of wisdom and enlightment for students thanks to the experience gained form the prior history. Undeniably, being aware of the failure and prosper of some of the historical event will broaden students understanding and knowledge; events such as Iran or France revolutions are just two examples.

Furthermore, having a good command of history course will empower students to become familiar with different cultures all around the world. To put it in other words, when students read the historical event of various countries or different eras, they will understand their cultures as well. It can be mentioned that history and cultures are inseparable. If students dig down the history pertain to a particular country, they will understand their cultural value as well.

Last but not least, to read and study a history course means to become acquainted with the process of failure or flourish of a society. It is undisputable that the course of flourishing and prospering of a society can be reflected through the history of that era. If students read the history related to that country, they will become familiar and will understand the reasons, policies, actions, attitudes of previous leaders. Moreover, they can understand how the previous generation have faced different challenges.

In conclusion, having the aforementioned reasons and examples into account, I do believe that it is important for university students to take history course. Not only do students gain knowledge and experience about the previous generation, but also they can become familiar with the cultures of their predecessors. What is more, they can envision the process of their failure and prosper to know the steps taken to resolve the challenges.