Is it as important for older people to learn and study new things as it is for young people?

Learning has been played a pivotal role in human life. Without learning, a human would not improve and they would not have hade this life in which we exist. The controversial question which arises here is whether learning is limited to people's young age or it is also necessary for the elderly to learn. While some people might believe that until your old age you have learned sufficiently, I believe that learning is a perpetual process. There are numerous reasons two of which I will elaborate on in the following paragraphs.

First, life is a phenomenon that you learn through every single step from childhood through old age. Life is full of lessons and we are like students that came to school for the first time and each stage requires its skills. In another word, children learn things which is crucial for both their childhood and adolescence and similarly, it is applicable for youth and elderly. To illustrate it vividly, I have a friend who is seventy years old. He told me his mind does not recognize his age and he wants to exercise but his body does not allow him to do certain postures. Therefore, he should learn new skills to adapt himself to his old age.

The second reason is, learning helps old people remain updated and relevant to the contemporary world. in other words, in today's modern world, life has exponentially altered to a complex form that is completely different from the past, and being updated is imported to fit in the society. In the past, life has a slow-paced process and there was no distinct difference between elderly's and young people's knowledge. Nowadays, due to the tremendous difference, elderly, if they want to be relevant they should learn new things. For instance, if they do not learn how to use mobiles or how to send email or text messages, they would not be able to be in touch with their children.

The third reason is, learning keeps the spirit alive. Everyone, especially the elderlies learn new things until the last day of their life, they would not feel old. As a case in point, my grandfather invariably used to require his grandchildren to teach him something new like games or a sport. He was strongly diligent to learn and he wanted to compete with us. I never consider him as an old person and he was my best friend to talk to.

In conclusion, as I stated above, there is no difference between ages in the case of learning. Each period of age has its lessons and learning is a never-ending process.