Is it more important to understand ideas and concepts than facts?

There is a lot of debate about the greater importance of understanding concepts and ideas versus facts. I agree with this point of view for two reasons which I shall explore in the following paragraphs.

To begin with, I think a significant amount of importance needs to be put on differentiating facts and ideas and to outline the importance of the latter. Facts are things that are true and are undisruptive regardless of anything that happens or what people say; on the other hand concepts are more general ideas supported by evidence, logic and thesis. Concepts can be questioned and altered contingent on a variety of factors. The main difference between the two is that facts are mostly memorized, and concepts are more ought to be understood and grasped. I think in order to become educated for a person and develop critical thinking he really needs to have a broader understanding of concepts and ideas since it will give him the opportunity to analyze and question the nature of the information which is essential in today’s ever-changing world.

Furthermore, the other reason that it is more important to understand concepts versus facts is because there is so much emphasis being put on memorizing facts than on reflecting broader ideas. There is a sense of prioritization of facts in society. For example, the educational system is heavily concentrated on teaching the students to memorize facts rather than more generalized ideas and how to think and evaluate. In my opinion if the school system spent a lot more time teaching their students broader concepts, the importance of analysis and critical thinking our society would be far better off. Emphasis should not be put on historical dates and kings’ names but instead on the conclusions to be the historical lessons.

To sum up I firmly agree with the statement that it is way more important to understand concepts than to memorize facts since understanding wider ideas will help one to learn how to think, analyze and assess the reality surrounding them.