Is it more important to understand ideas and concepts than facts?

There is a lot of debate that it is more important to understand concepts and ideas versus facts. I think there needs to be distinguishment drawn between trying to understand raw facts versus whole ideas and concepts I agree with this point of view for two reasons which I shall explore in the following paragraphs.

To begin with, I think a significant amount of importance needs to be put on differentiating facts and ideas and to outline the importance of the latter. Facts ae things that are true and are undisruptive regardless of anything that happens or what people say on the other hand concepts are more general ideas supported by evidence, logic and thesis. Concepts can be questioned and altered contingent on a variety of factors. The main difference between the two is that facts are mostly memorized, and concepts are more ought to be understood grasped. I think in order for a person to become educated and develop critical thinking he really needs to have a broader understanding of concepts and ideas since it will give him the opportunity to analyze and question the nature of the information which is essential in today’s ever-changing world.

Furthermore, the other reason that it is more important to understand concepts versus facts is because there is so much emphasis being put on memorizing facts than broader ideas there is a sense of prioritization of facts in society. For example, the educational system is heavily concentrated on teaching students’ facts rather than more generalized ideas and how to think and evaluate. In my opinion if the school system spent a lot more time teaching their students broader concepts, the importance of analysis and critical thinking our society would be far better off. Emphasis should not be put not on historical dates and kings’ names but instead what can be inferred from those events and periods and what should be learned needs to be considered.

To sum up I firmly agree with the statement that it is way more important to understand concepts than to memorize facts since understanding wider ideas will help one to learn how to think, analyze and assess the reality surrounding them.