Learning about the past has no value for those of us living in the present. Do you agree or disagree? Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

When it comes to discussing the importance of past experience, previous events are regarded as useless in the decision-making process in the present. I disagree with this point of view because humanity has a long history, which cannot be ignored because we are part of this way. By keeping continuity of knowledge, we can learn from the experience of our ancestors for the development of the contemporary world.

First of all, learning about the past has a significant meaning, because it gives us the undeniable advantage of using the lessons and failures of foregoing generations. For example, by learning the disasters brought by World War I and World War II, people now are concerned about peace more than ever before. Furthermore, without sharing our experiences, we inevitably encounter the same hardships repeatedly. The government in Russia, for instance, ignores fires in Siberia happening regularly. As a result of underestimating past experience, we are losing a lot of forests every year.

By the same token, errors from the past are discipline through which we advance. Progress is always based on accumulative attempts to overcome numerous obstacles, so it is a never-ending story. The Olympic games are a good example of this continuity whereby many records are there to be challenged, and some become the past, whereas others will challenge the participants in the future.

Furthermore, it is a fact that by engaging in our history, we can easily perceive the rules of modern society, because it is a continuous process. In contrast, indifference to prior events obstructs communication with other individuals and understanding ourselves. We may underestimate the influence of the common heritage of mankind, but the misunderstanding of our own roots inevitably leads to a feeling of isolation from our families and close surrounding groups, which determine the patterns of our behavior.

In sum, I believe that learning about the past has many benefits for us living in the present because we can learn from the lessons and failures of foregoing generations, as well as build upon the success of our predecessors. In other words, the past is as important as the present.