Museums are famous among all the sections of society regardless of age, caste, gender, literacy or income level. People visit Museum for wide range of reasons depending upon their interest, historical value of that place or some other just for fun. In the following essay, I have thrown light on some of the major reasons for people to visit Museums .

Firstly, most of the travelers visit Museums to explore the culture and heritage of the city or country as Museums preserve the handicrafts and arts local to that area. For example, Museums in a city like Jaipur, India, is always teeming with travelers who have come from far places to see the local handicrafts and artifacts like potteries, colorful bangles and beautiful jewelry. In this way, they can get a feel of the authenticity that is slowly being erased due to globalization and urbanization.

Secondly, many places are famous for major events and incidents that have had a big impact in the history and the Museums based on those events, attract locals and travelers equally. For example, Gandhi Museum in Gujrat, is established on the birthplace of Mahatma Gandhi and houses his clothes, the famous chakra, his watch and other items along with his photographs during revolution and a brief history of his contribution. So, people come here to learn and take inspiration from his sacrifices and contribution to the nation.

Thirdly, other people just visit Museum for fun and leisure time. For example, the famous wax Museum in Delhi, is very popular among people who visit to see the human sized statues of prominent personalities from various profession like Sachin Tendulkar, Brad Pitt, Einstein and Narinder Modi etc.

In Conclusion, travelers visit Museum majorly for the above reasons.