Should governments spend more money on improving roads and highways, or should governments spend more money on improving public transportation (buses, trains, subways)? Why? Use specific reasons and details to develop your essay.

While the are many benefits of improving of the public transport like buses or trains, however, considering the current scenario in a developing country like India, government should rather, focus on building better roads and highways. There are several reasons that support my position as mentioned in the essay below.

The bus and railway projects are highly convluted and require high amount of investment both in terms of time and money. Such projects may require government to improve the current condition of trains, construct railway lines or in some cases, procure new trains from other countries (like Japan, in the case of Delhi metro). Moreover, it involves a lot of administration work like approvals from different departments, state governments or agencies. As more people are involved, chances of malpractises such as corruption are increased. As a result, these projects are delayed and not much improvement is done at the ground level.

On the other hand, improving roads and highways are much simpler and can be completed within a short duration of time and that too at a lower cost. As the process of constructing and maintaining roads is easier and does not involve many parameters, the government can allocate it to the local contractors and instead, can focus on more pressing issues related to economy, health and education. Building roads have long term benefits - local farmers from nearby villages can come to cities to sell their vegetation and fruits, companies can open offices and factories in villages due to cheap land and good the road connectivity. Allocating the work to the local contrators would lead to more transperency within the goverment and cases of corruption would also decrease.

In conclusion, building roads and highways is more advantageous to the government and public than imporving public transportation.