Many people visit museums when they travel to new places. Why do you think people visit museums?

Museums are one of the most significant tourist attractions in every city. In my point of view, people enjoy visiting museums while they travel for two reasons. In the following essay, I will explain these reasons in further details.

First and foremost, people visit museums to get insight into history and cultural heritage of the new place they are visiting. Museums contain unique collections of historical artifacts which actually represent and illustrate the history of a country. For example, most of the tourists who travel to Iran visit “National Museum of Jewelry” located in Tehran and they declare that by observing priceless collection of ancient jewelry, they understand the glory of ancient monarchies. Also, visiting museums enables them to learn about Persian history, culture, folklore, costumes, traditions, and values.

Moreover, museums are intriguing places for art lovers. Both the antique art pieces held in history museums and modern artworks exhibited in contemporary art museums fascinate everyone interested in art. I myself am an art student. Last year when I was visiting Paris, I used the opportunity to visit an art museum, which gave me great inspirations for my later paintings. Not only did that museum tour help me to come up with some ideas for my thesis, I also had enjoyable time looking at famous artists’ masterpieces.

In conclusion, I believe that people go to museums because they want to gain knowledge of the culture and history of the city they are visiting. Besides, they enjoy the noble artworks which are presented for public viewing in the museums. In other words, by visiting museums, they add an intellectual element to their trip.